For the first time ever, Jersey Sports Zone’s top individual football honor goes to a junior.

Toms River North’s dual-threat quarterback Micah Ford put together one of the most dominant single season performances in recent memory. The Mariners’ go-to guy compiled 3,563 total yards of offense and 50 total touchdowns in 2022, while helping lead Toms River North to a perfect 14-0 season and the first-ever Group 5 state championship. He is the 2022 Zoneman Trophy Winner.

Jersey Sports Zone’s Rich Chrampanis and Jay Cook snuck into Toms River North on Friday afternoon and surprised Ford with the Zoneman Trophy:

Zoneman Trophy Voting Breakdown

JSZ’s ballot included four seniors (two Power 5 commits and two Ivy League commits) and Ford, the lone underclassmen of the group. Our team collected 73 total ballots (56 coaches and 17 media) in an equal distribution across the entire state. Ballots from each of New Jersey’s football conferences were included. 

Voting Coaches

Jeremy Schulte, Rumson-Fair Haven | Vito Campanile, Bergen Catholic | Nick Campanile, DePaul Catholic |Brian Bowers, Delbarton | Dan Marangi, St. Joe’s Mont. | Rich Hansen III, St. Peter’s Prep | Dave Oizerowitz, Toms River North | Tom Farrell, Manchester | Dan Sabella, Don Bosco | John Tierney, Pinelands | Len Zdanowicz, Brick Township | Walt Currie, Brick Memorial | Matt Ahearn, Colts Neck | Bill Hill, Howell | Jay Graber, Matawan | Lou Grasso, Union | Joe Goerge, South Brunswick | Jason Glezmen, Keyport | Chris Beagan, Sayreville | Todd Smith, Hun | Milo Macguire, Nottingham | Frank Duffy, Phillipsburg | Steve Antonucci, Middletown South | Brian Russo, Rahway | Bill Fitzgerald, Seton Hall Prep | Mike Arakelian, Hackettstown |  Rich Seubert, Watchung Hills |  Barris Grant, Hillside | Greg Gruzdis, Waldwick | Jim Raso, Hammonton | Pete Lancetta, St. Augustine | Bert Ayala, Millville | Montrey Wright, Salem | Steve Dunn, Rutherford | Dave Cord, Northern Highlands | Kevin Smith, Ocean City | Rob Hinson, Camden | Kadin Booker, Burlington City | Bill Belton, Winslow Twp. | Matt Demarest, Passaic Tech | Ashley “Smoke” Pierre, Irvington | Vin Mistretta, Jackson Memorial | Jim Sharples, Jackson Liberty | Chuck Smith, Mainland | Kevin Kostibos, Summit | Joe LaSala, Woodbridge | Kevin Carty Jr., Hillsborough | Brian Dunn, Old Tappan | Ralph Cinque, Clifton | Kevin Hennelley, West Morris | Michael Cipot, North Brunswick | Wilber Valdez, Union City | Tarig Holman, St. Thomas Aquinas | Zoran Milich, Montgomery | Darnell Grant, West Orange | Garrett Lucas, Rancocas Valley

Voting Media

Rich Chrampanis, JSZ | Jay Cook, JSZ | Mike Frankel, JSZ | Nery Rodriguez, JSZ | James Mooney, JSZ | Ken Bradley, JSZ | Ryan Patti, NJ Advance Media | Dave McCarthy, The McCarthy Report | Marcus Borden, Gannett | Sean Miller, NJ Advance Media | Antonio Morales, NJ Athletics | Shawn Brown, 247 Sports | Kevin Minnick, NJ Advance Media | Tom Williams, Prime Events | Mike McGarry, Press of Atlantic City | Mike Kinney, NJ Advance Media | Bob Badders, Shore Sports Network

Zoneman Trophy History

The 2022 season marks the sixth year of the Zoneman Trophy in New Jersey. He’s a rundown of the award’s past winners. Click each player’s name for their presentation ceremony.

2021: LeQuint Allen, Millville (Syracuse)

2020: Audric Estime, St. Joe’s Mont. (Notre Dame)

2019: Fadil Diggs, Woodrow Wilson (Texas A&M)

2018: Jalahn Dabney, Somerville

2017: Ashante Worthy, Freehold Boro