Watch video highlights from the top players from the Shore Conference and the presentation of Miss Hoop Zone 2015 to Manasquan’s Marina Mabrey

Marina Mabrey wins SSZ’s Miss Hoop Zone 2015

Shore Sports Zone asks the head coaches in the Shore Conference to cast a ballot for the top three players in the area.  Manasquan’s Marina Mabrey captured our first post-season honor.  The McDonald’s All-American led the Lady Warriors to the Tournament of Champions title and a stellar career with over 2,000 points, four state titles and two TOC championships.

2015 Miss Hoop Zone Balloting

18 area head coaches and SSZ’s Rich Chrampanis cast a ballot for the top three players in the Shore Conference:

Name High School 1st 2nd 3rd Total
Marina MabreyManasquan161050
Kat PhippsSaint Rose111328
Stephanie KarczMiddletown South13615
Kelly CampbellSaint John Vianney02610
Grace StantRumson-Fair Haven0135
Jess LouroSaint Rose0215

Saint Rose’s Kat Phipps and Middletown South’s Stephanie Karcz shared the podium with Marina Mabrey at our winter sports banquet – check out their profiles:

Meet the 2015 SSZ All-Zone Girls Basketball Team

NameSchoolName School
Marajiah BaconNeptuneCourtney HagamanManasquan
Alex BarazottiRBCMorgan GrazianoHolmdel
Kelly CampbellSaint John VianneyLindsey HavensPoint Pleasant Boro
Chelsea CroweDonovan CatholicKatelyn KusterCentral Regional
Angela DeBartolomeMiddletown SouthJess LouroSaint Rose
Mia EhlingHolmdelSam SabinoRumson-Fair Haven
Kim EvansSaint John VianneyNicole ShatskyMarlboro
Sam FamulareFreehold TownshipGrace StantRumson-Fair Haven
Noelle FrostColts Neck

Monmouth Building Center hands out four state championship Game Balls

Our friends at Monmouth Building Center help us showcase boys and girls basketball players all season long with fan voting for SSZ Game Balls.  With four state champions from the Shore Conference, we chose four outstanding athletes who came through big for their team on the big stage:

iPlay America Plays of the Year

Thanks so much to our great fans who cast their votes non-stop for a full week!  Over 230,000 votes in seven days and the winners were honored at our winter sports banquet.  Congratulations to Middletown South’s Julia Valkos for winning Clutch Play of the Year for her strong play to close out a Shore Conference Tournament win over Rumson-Fair Haven: