Wagner Wins 2021 JSZ Mr. Hoop Zone

The sensational Camden sophomore wins JSZ’s boys basketball player of the year award. Watch JSZ’s feature and see highlight reels from all five of our finalists!

Camden’s D.J. Wagner has been named Jersey Sports Zone’s Mr. Hoop Zone for 2021. The award is based on balloting from coaches and media from all over the state. JSZ’s Mike Frankel profiles Wagner’s remarkably fast rise to the top of the New Jersey high school hoops scene.

JSZ Mr. Hoop Zone Balloting

Thanks to the coaches and statewide media who casted their vote for JSZ’s Mr. Hoop Zone. Three points for a first place vote, two points for a second, and one point for third.


Don DeLeo, Hightstown, Matt Bloom, Rutgers Prep, Dave Boff, Roselle Catholic, Justin Salton, Watchung Hills, James Cranwell, Middletown South, Randy Holmes, Jackson Memorial, Ben DiBiase, Freehold Boro, Andrew Bilodeau, Manasquan, Mike Clemente, Central Regional, Cameron Bell, Egg Harbor Township, Gene Allen, Atlantic City, Richard Bolds, Timber Creek, Michael Nausedas, Marlboro, Michael Doherty, St. Joe-Montvale, Eric Cassidy, Cherokee, Paul Rodio, St. Augustine, Dennis Caruano, Raritan, Nicholas Famularo, Asbury Park, Billy Armstrong, Bergen Catholic, Kris Grundy, Montgomery, Anthony Tavares, Newark East Side, Chris Chavannes, Patrick School, Mike Puorro, Barnegat, Matt Talbot, Roselle Park, Liam James, Gloucester, Ben Gamble, Bayonne, Todd Powers, Gloucester Catholic, Alex Mirabel, St. Peter’s Prep, Anthony Drejaj, Linden, Julius David, Perth Amboy, John Rosser, Overbrook, Paddy McNamara, Haddon Township, Chris Garcia, JP Stevens, Phil Collicchio, Elizabeth, Chris Raba, Nottingham


Sean Miller, NJ Advance Media, John Jones, MaxPreps, Kevin Minnick, NJ Advance Media, Tom Williams, Prime Events, Mike McGarry, Press of Atlantic City, Brandon Gould, NJ Advance Media, Adam Zagoria, ZagsBlog.com, Jay Gomes, NJHoops.com, Dave’s Joint, Mike Kinney, NJ Advance Media, Kyle Franco, Trentonian, Greg Johnson, Trentonian, Greg Machos, GMC Hoops, JSZ Staff

Watch Highlight Reels of JSZ’s Five Mr. Hoop Zone Finalists