The 2023 football season has finally come to a close and it’s time to recognize the best in New Jersey. From the Zoneman Trophy to the entire All-Zone team – meet the best football players that the Garden State has to offer in our full postseason award breakdown.

Micah Ford Wins 2023 Zoneman Trophy

For the first time ever, Jersey Sports Zone’s top individual football has a repeat winner

Toms River North’s QB Micah Ford once again stands at the top of the mountain in New Jersey high school football. Ford was named the 2023 Zoneman after our team collected 70 total ballots from coaches in all regions of the state and credentialed media. Despite missing nearly four games during the course of the season, Ford was able to get healthy for the state playoffs and lead his Mariners back to a second-straight Group 5 state championship. The Stanford commit tallied 2,569 scrimmage yards and 29 total touchdowns in his final high school season.

JSZ’s Rich Chrampanis profiles Ford through all the twists and turns of a wild season:

Coaches/Media Polled for the 2023 Zoneman Trophy

Walt Currie, Brick Memorial | Dave Oizerowitz, Toms River North | Dave Ellis, Freehold Boro | Matt Ahearn, Colts Neck | Len Zdanowicz, Brick Township | Vito Campanile, Bergen Catholic | Steve Dunn, Rutherford | Smoke Pierre, Irvington | Greg Russo, Paramus Catholic | Nick Campanile, DePaul Catholic | Matt Demarest, Passaic Tech | Rich Hansen III, St. Peter’s Prep | Humberto Ayala, Millville | Garrett Lucas, Rancocas Valley | Anthony Reagan, Woodbury | John Emel, Penns Grove | Keenan Wright, Atlantic City | Jim Raso, Hammonton | Chuck Smith, Mainland | Todd Romano, Caldwell | Dave Cord, Northern Highlands | Todd Smith, Hun | Joe LaSala, Woodbridge | Dom Gaston, Pope John | Wilbur Valdez, Union City | Mike DeFazio, Ramapo | Lou Grasso, Union | Mike Cipot, North Brunswick | Jason Glezmen, Keyport | Joe Goerge, South Brunswick | Dan Sabella, Don Bosco | Zoran Milich, Montgomery | Frank Duffy, Phillipsburg | Jon Simoneau, Bernards | Tim Gushue, Shawnee | Mike Schatzman, Washington Twp. | Mark Hendricks, Kingsway | Brian Bowers, Delbarton | Mike Wilson, Schalick | Tarig Holman, St. Thomas Aquinas | Kevin Smith, Ocean City | Joe Wojceichowski, Lenape | James Melody, Cedar Creek | John Adams, Woodstown | Don Sofilkanich, Sayreville | Thomas Farrell, Manchester Twp. | Jeff Papcun, St. John Vianney | Malachi Timberlake, Pleasantville | Brian Staub, Point Pleasant Boro | Darnell Grant, West Orange | Dan Curcione, Donovan Catholic | Mike Lange, RBC | Milo McGuire, Nottingham | Brian Dunn, Old Tappan | John Tierney, Pinelands | Rich Chrampanis, Jersey Sports Zone | Jay Cook, Jersey Sports Zone | Nery Rodriguez, Jersey Sports Zone | James Mooney, Jersey Sports Zone | Mike Frankel, Jersey Sports Zone | Luis Torres, NJ Advance Media | Ryan Patti, NJ Advance Media | Kevin Minnick, NJ Advance Media | Mike McGarry, Press of Atlantic City | Justin Wimberly, Zone6ix Football | Tom Williams, Prime Events | Mike Kinney, NJ Advance Media | Dave McCarthy, The McCarthy Report | Antonio Morales, NJ Athletics

2023 Zoneman Finalists Highlight Reels

Being named a Zoneman Trophy finalist means you’re recognized as one of the elite players in New Jersey. We’ve got you covered if you want to learn more about each of the six finalists for this year’s award, plus the full seven-year history of the Zoneman Trophy.

Meet the 2023 All-Zone Football Team

Our team covered hundreds of games this season in every corner of the state and we saw some of the best talent in New Jersey. So, let’s meet the 2023 All-Zone team!

JSZ’s Public Offense

QuarterbackRunning BackWide ReceiverTight EndOffensive LineAthlete
Lamar Best, WillingboroBryce Belinfanti, WoodstownEvan Brooks, Old TappanTommy Bussanich, WestwoodCosmo Fusco, Mountain LakesMatt Cassidy, Marlboro
Robbie Carcich, WestwoodZac Fearon, Seneca
Matthew D'Avino, MontgomeryJackson Gallagher, Rumson-Fair Haven
Tyler Habersham-Agbemenu, DelseaCohen Cook, Mainland
Landon DePrima, RamapoAyden Jones, HackensackSah'nye Degraffenreidt, Atlantic City
Justin Kaye, Toms River NorthJeremiah Pruitt, Toms River North
Connor Dietz, Brick Memorial
Rashawn Marshall, WeequahicTa'Ron Haile, MillvilleAidan Lynch, Mount OliveXavier Sabb, Glassboro
Matt Oliphant, Point Pleasant Boro
Dan Russo, DelseaJoe Klein, WestwoodJaelyne Matthews, Toms River North
Nazir Treadwell, Keyport
Maurice Williams, OrangeChris Scully, Colts Neck
Benny Liles III, KingswayJudah Pruitt, ShabazzRyan Ward, Rutherford
Jacob Zamot, Millville
Kenny Smith, HammontonCam Miller, Winslow Twp.Logan Ritchie, BernardsJohn Wargo, Phillipsburg
Zaimer Wright, Sayreville
Zach Schnoorbusch, Ramapo
Jack Small, Old Tappan

(Click each player’s name to watch their profile)

JSZ’s Public Defense

Defensive LineLinebackerDefensive BackKicker/Punter
Blaise Boland, Toms River NorthJulian Casale, CaldwellDenzel Chavis, Union CityGunnar Hilsinger, Roxbury
Malachi Castle, Rancocas ValleyFatim Diggs, Camden EastsideTareq Council, Toms River NorthNico Ottomanelli, Old Tappan
Travon Dye, Passaic TechColin Gallagher, Middletown SouthJake Gruzas, Caldwell
Richard James Jr., CamdenAustin Lenart, CherokeeCashmere Jones, Passaic Tech
Jahide Lesaine, IrvingtonDJ McClary, SnyderBraheem Long, Camden
Hunter Watson, MainlandPatrick Ryan, HaddonfieldWill Love, Camden Eastside
Jackson Whitacre, Shore RegionalJJ Sinclair, MainlandVaboue Toure, Irvington
Brahim Wynn, Timber CreekJamie Tyson, Mainland

(Click each player’s name to watch their profile)

JSZ’s Non-Public Offense

QuarterbackRunning BackWide Receiver / Tight EndOffensive LineAthleteZoneman Finalists
Dominic Campanile, Bergen CatholicNajee Calhoun, Donovan CatholicNate Bailey, St. Joe's MontvaleTyler Burnham, Red Bank CatholicPhillip Folmar, DelbartonLotzeir Brooks, Millville
Chris Dietrich, Pope JohnMichael Dunmore, Seton Hall PrepJeremy DeCaro, St. Joseph MetuchenRyan Cregan, DelbartonTylik Hill, Pope JohnTrashon Dye, Passaic Tech
Patrick Grusser, St. Joe's MontvaleNolan James, DePaul CatholicDez Jones, DePaul CatholicNyier Daniels, Bergen CatholicMatt Morad, Paul VIMicah Ford, Toms River North
AJ Surace, Notre DameRyan Trafford, DelbartonKenyon Massey, Paramus CatholicMalachi Goodman, Paramus CatholicStephen Ordille, Mainland
Frankie Williams, Red Bank CatholicJulian Turney, St. AugustineBobby Mays, Don Bosco PrepMarcus Linder, Bergen CatholicEmanuel Ross, Red Bank Catholic
Derek Zammit, DePaul CatholicYasin Willis, St. Joe's MontvaleQuincy Porter, Bergen CatholicJake Macce, DelbartonKaj Sanders, Bergen Catholic
Gabe Winowich, Notre DameMichael Thomas III, Donovan CatholicAdam Yevchak, Donovan Catholic
Julius Vicari, Seton Hall Prep

(Click each player’s name to watch their profile)

JSZ’s Non-Public Defense

Defensive LineLinebackerDefensive BackSpecial Teams
Joe Asiain, St. Peter's PrepRicky Anastasi, St. Joe's MontvaleJahmir Joseph, St. Joe's MontvaleJack Joyce, St. Thomas Aquinas
Zaeir Day, Donovan CatholicDavin Brewton, Red Bank CatholicJaylen McClain, Seton Hall PrepJack Morgese, Pope John
Logan Graham, Red Bank CatholicJayden Brown, Don Bosco PrepStephen Myers, Red Bank Catholic
Elijah Kinsler, Bergen CatholicTyler Houser, Pope JohnJulian Onesti, St. Augustine
Lamont Lester, Don Bosco PrepDallas Hurley, DelbartonNaiim Parrish, Bergen Catholic
Connor Martin, DelbartonChristian Magliacano, St. Thomas AquinasJordan Thomas, Bergen Catholic
Lorenzo Portella, Red Bank CatholicAnthony Nittoli, DePaul Catholic
Jordan Thomas, Don Bosco PrepJohnny Riley, Delbarton

(Click each player’s name to watch their profile)