Manasquan guard Dara Mabrey is our 2017 SSZ Miss Hoop Zone winner.  Meet a stellar group of Shore Conference girls basketball standouts and features on our three finalists for SSZ’s top hoops honor

The 3rd annual SSZ Winter Sports Banquet, presented by the US Army, allowed us to honor the top girls basketball players in the Shore Conference.  Here’s a recap and all of our videos.

Dara Mabrey wins 2017 SSZ Miss Hoop Zone

Manasquan guard Dara Mabrey was named Gatorade’s New Jersey player of the year and now adds SSZ’s top hoops honor.  Mabrey received 28 first-place votes from area coaches as she led the Warriors to a fourth straight state championship.  Watch our feature that shows us what motivates the dynamic athlete:

2017 SSZ Miss Hoop Zone Balloting

3 points for 1st place vote, 2 points for 2nd and 1 point for 3rd – votes from Shore Conference head coaches and SSZ’s Rich Chrampanis

Name High School 1st 2nd 3rd Total
Dara MabreyManasquan286298
Desiree AllenNeptune34825
Josie LarkinsRed Bank Catholic17724
Kimi EvansSt. John Vianney23517
Tori HydukeRumson-Fair Haven1`5417
Stella ClarkManasquan16216
Hannah ScanlanRumson-Fair Haven15316
Lucy ThomasSaint Rose1218
Ashley TutzauerToms River North2108
Mikayla MarkhamSaint Rose1116
Ally LassenPoint Pleasant Boro0055
Faith MasoniusManasquan1014
Jen Louro Saint Rose0113
Rose CaverlyRed Bank Catholic1003

Neptune’s Desiree Allen is on her way to the New Jersey Institute of Technology and RBC’s Josie Larkins is ready to begin her college career at the University of Vermont.  Watch our features on our 2017 Miss Hoop Zone Finalists:

2017 All-Zone Girls Basketball Team – click on each player below to watch their highlight video

NameSchoolName SchoolNameSchool
Bridgett AndreeTrinity HallAlly LassenPoint Pleasant BoroAshley TutzauerToms River North
Alexandra BalsamoMiddletown SouthJen LouroSaint RoseAddie MasoniusManasquan - State champ game ball
Rose CaverlyRed Bank CatholicFaith MasoniusManasquanMaureen CoakleyRed Bank Catholic - State champ game ball
Stella ClarkManasquanMikayla MarkhamSaint RoseTia MontagneRed Bank Catholic - State champ game ball
Haley DalonzoMiddletown SouthHayley MooreRed Bank Catholic
Kimi EvansSaint John VianneyKatie RiceRed Bank CatholicDara MabreyManasquan - 2017 SSZ Miss Hoop Zone
Hailee HallardMiddletown NorthHannah ScanlanRumson-Fair HavenDesiree AllenNeptune - Miss HZ Finalist
Tori HydukeRumson-Fair HavenEllyn StollSaint RoseJosie LarkinsRBC - Miss HZ Finalist
Sarah KarpellSaint John VianneyLucy ThomasSaint Rose

Thanks to the US Army for allowing us to give a special night to the outstanding basketball players from the Shore Conference