We have highlight videos of our 2017 All-Zone boys basketball team and we profile our three Mister Hoop Zone finalists including 2017 winner Elijah Barnes of Mater Dei Prep

The 3rd annual SSZ Winter Sports Banquet, presented by the US Army, allowed us to honor the top boys basketball players in the Shore Conference.  Here’s a recap and all of our videos.

Elijah Barnes win 2017 SSZ Mister Hoop Zone

Mater Dei Prep’s Elijah Barnes is the 2017 winner of SSZ’s Mister Hoop Zone.  The Princeton-bound forward was a catalyst in back to back Shore Conference championships for the Seraphs.  Watch the story of Elijah and his commitment to being a student-athlete:

2017 SSZ Mister Hoop Zone Balloting

3 points for 1st place vote, 2 points for 2nd and 1 point for 3rd – votes from Shore Conference head coaches and SSZ’s Rich Chrampanis

Name High School 1st 2nd 3rd Total
Elijah BarnesMater Dei Prep1612981
Bryan AntoineRanney1311970
PJ RingelMarlboro55631
Devin JensenManasquan47430
Scottie LewisRanney26927
Jaden RhodenToms River North33621
Kenny JonesMater Dei Prep3009
Rob HigginsMiddletown North0113
Darrion CarringtonToms River North0102
Steve StaklinskiFreehold Township0022
Maks GruszeckiCentral Regional0102

Ranney sophomore Bryan Antoine is one of the nation’s top recruits and finished second in our balloting.  Marlboro guard PJ Ringel inspired many during his senior season and helped the Mustangs reach the Shore Conference finals.  Watch two great features on our finalists:

2017 All-Zone Boys Basketball Team – click on each player below to watch their highlight video

NameSchoolName SchoolName School
Terence CalandrilloRed Bank CatholicAdi PalmerLakewoodTyler PiersonRFH - State Playoff Game Ball
Darrion CarringtonToms River NorthMike RevelloBarnegat
Denis CorbinCentral RegionalLJ RobinsonManchesterElijah BarnesMater Dei Prep - 2017 Mr. HZ
Maks GruszeckiCentral RegionalJaden RhodenToms River NorthBryan AntoineRanney - 2017 Mr. HZ Finalist
Rob HigginsMiddletown NorthAhmadu SarnorRanneyPJ RingelMarlboro - 2017 Mr. Hoop Zone Finalist
Kenny JonesMater Dei PrepJack SolanoRumson-Fair Haven
Jared KimbroughNeptuneSteve StaklinskiFreehold Township
Scottie LewisRanneyTeddy SourlisRumson-Fair Haven
Elijah MitchellMater Dei PrepDaniel WeissMarlboro
Mike NyisztorToms River NorthDevin JensenManasquan
Ian O'ConnorRumson-Fair Haven

Thanks to the US Army for allowing us to give a special night to the outstanding basketball players from the Shore Conference