Shore Sports Zone salutes an outstanding group of Shore Conference hockey standouts

Bobby Hampton wins SSZ 2016 Hockey Player of the Year

Middletown North forward Bobby Hampton is committed to Northeastern and is on the NHL Draft radar.  Hampton’s dedication to playing high school hockey despite being a high profile prospect is his greatest contribution to not only the Lions, but the entire Shore Conference.  Watch Bobby’s story and his classy acceptance speech:

SSZ 2016 Hockey Player of the Year Voting

3 points for 1st place vote, 2 points for 2nd place vote, 1 point for 3rd place vote

Name High School 1st 2nd 3rd Total
Bobby HamptonMiddletown North56431
Khristian AcostaMiddletown North53122
Ryan Bogan, Jr. CBA33520
Brendan BanRumson-Fair Haven2119
Zach NobleToms River East2107
Joe LowJackson Liberty2006
Michael CerneroCBA1116

Hampton’s teammate Khristian Acosta and CBA defenseman Ryan Bogan, Junior joined Hampton on our podium.  Watch their profiles here:



Meet the 2016 All-Zone Hockey Team

GoaliesDefensemanForwardsAward Winners
Mike Cernero, CBATrevor Cear, Jackson MemorialBrendan Ban, Rumson-Fair HavenMike Vendittoli, Saint Rose - Scholar Athlete
Bobby Dovenero, HowellConor Deverin, Rumson-Fair HavenDerek Contessa, CBA
Jake Lakatos, Brick TownshipJustin Hulse, Brick MemorialRobby Feathers, OceanBobby Hampton, Middletown North - 2016 SSZ Hockey POY
Julian Kislin, Freehold TownshipKevin Felice, Middletown NorthKhristian Acosta, Middletown North - POY Finalist
Michael Mooney, Brick TownshipAnthony Gallicchio, HowellRyan Bogan, Jr., CBA - POY Finalist
James Stanger, CBAGavin Gulash, Middletown South
Max Halvorsen, Freehold Township
Evan Hoey, RBC
Joe Low, Jackson Liberty
Alec Mintz, RBC
Zach Noble, Toms River East
Matt Scalvino, Southern Regional
Vincent Tomasetti, Middletown North
Cristian Winters, CBA

Avon Pond

Thanks to Avon Pond for sponsoring our Game Puck award every week and being a great ambassador to high school hockey.