Meet the best on the ice in the Shore Conference and the presentation of Howell’s Kyle Hallbauer as our player of the year

Kyle Hallbauer wins SSZ Hockey Player of the Year

Howell’s Kyle Hallbauer earned SSZ’s first ever post-season honor on the ice.  The state’s leading scorer took home the trophy at our winter sports banquet:

2015 SSZ Hockey Player of the Year voting

23 head coaches and SSZ’s Rich Chrampanis cast their ballot for the top three players in the Shore Conference

Name High School 1st 2nd 3rd Total
Kyle HallbauerHowell86339
Matt KidneySaint John Vianney310332
Bobby HamptonMiddletown North41115
Zach BerzollaFreehold Township2119
Todd GoehringRBC1127
Ryan BoganCBA1047

Joining Kyle on our first hockey podium were a pair of talented scorers in Saint John Vianney’s Matt Kidney and Middletown North’s Bobby Hampton – watch their profiles here:

Meet the 2015 SSZ All-Zone Hockey Team

Mike Cernero, CBAZach Berzolla, Freehold TownshipKhristian Acosta, Middletown North
Bobby Dovenero, HowellBrandon Biegan, Southern RegionalBrian Aji, Southern Regional
Brandon Rozzi, RBCRyan Bogan, CBABrendan Ban, Rumson-Fair Haven
Matt Chinnici, RBCMike Gelatt, Saint John Vianney
Matt Drake, Donovan CatholicTodd Goehring, RBC
Wes Friberg, Middletown SouthOwen Herrington, Point Pleasant Boro
Jack Kosinski, HowellEvan Hoey, RBC
Brian Lange, Brick Township
Greg Malafronte, CBA
JC Maroukis, Donovan Catholic
Ryan O'Malley, Saint Rose
Conor Tierney, CBA
Cristian Winters, CBA

Ryan Herrington wins our Brick Stars MVP!

Point Pleasant Boro’s Owen Herrington was on our All-Zone squad, but his brother stole the show at iPlay America.  A number of area hockey players volunteer their time to the Brick Stars, a special needs program that has grown to over 60 participants.  When we saw Ryan Herrington shine in the Brick Stars game against the US Wounded Warriors, we decided to start the tradition of honoring a Brick Stars athlete every year at our banquet.  Ryan received a standing ovation and gave a wonderful acceptance speech in front of the capacity crowd at iPlay America.



Iplay America Plays of the Year

Thank you to all the great fans for voting over 230,000 times in our iPlay America winter plays of the year!  It was a Saint John Vianney sweep with Jimmy Ellis and Matt Kidney scoring wins from the fan vote: