Mabrey, Reid grab top honors at JSZ Basketball Banquet

Lights, Camera, Action! Before the big night begins we caught up with our Player of the Year finalists, the best dressed and get answers to burning questions from the best in the garden state.

Check out post-banquet interviews with some of our All-State Stars and coaches, as well as, highlights from the first ever JSZ All-State Basketball Banquet:

Dara Mabrey wins JSZ 2018 Miss Hoop Zone

Manasquan’s Dara Mabrey led her team to a triple title: Shore Conference, state and Tournament of Champions winner.

JSZ’s Alex Lorenzo chronicles an amazing senior season:

Name High School 1st 2nd 3rd Total
Dara MabreyManasquan276294
Diamond MillerFranklin212838
Faith MasoniusManasquan27626
Tori HydukeRumson-Fair Haven18726
Leilani CorreaRutgers Prep41418
Michelle SidorSaddle River Day22313
Mikayla MarkhamSaint Rose1127
Lucy ThomasSaint Rose0146
Kylee WatsonMainland1014
Danielle RobinsonUniversity0011

A special thanks to the coaches and statewide media who vote for Miss Hoop Zone

Coaches: Piscataway, Red Bank Regional, Mendham, Waldwick, Holmdel, Cherokee, Pascack Valley, Gloucester Catholic, Point Pleasant Beach, Southern Regional, Saint John Vianney, Barnegat, Ocean Township, Mater Dei Prep, RBC, Middletown South, Delaware Valley, Somerville, Hunterdon Central, Bernards, Patrick School, Bishop Ahr, Passaic, Allentown, Hopewell Valley, Trenton Catholic, Franklin, Steinert, Rumson-Fair Haven, Middletown South

Media: Sherlon Christie, Asbury Park Press, B. Gould,, Jason Bernstein,,  GThing Basketball, Rich Chrampanis, JSZ, Alex Lorenzo, JSZ, Jay Cook, JSZ, Gregg Lerner, Shore Sports Network

Meet JSZ’s Miss Hoop Zone Finalists! 

Three outstanding players with bright futures ahead of them


Naz Reid wins JSZ 2018 Mister Hoop Zone

Roselle Catholic’s Naz Reid has claimed JSZ’s Player of the Year honor.  The future LSU Tiger led the Lions to the Tournament of Champions title with spectacular play in March.  Learn more about a future star in college basketball and beyond:

Name High School 1st 2nd 3rd Total
Naz ReidRoselle Catholic149565
Jahvon QuinerlyHudson Catholic7141059
Jalen CareyMontclair Immaculate45931
Ron Harper, Jr.Bergen Catholic61323
Bryan AntoineRanney60321
Scottie LewisRanney24519
Tavon JonesLinden24115
Paul MulcahyGill St. Bernards1218
Ray Bethea, Jr.Atlantic City1003
Dean Noll Shawnee0113

Thanks to the coaches and media who voted for our Mister Hoop Zone in 2018

Coaches: Union, Manasquan, Barnegat, Bergen Catholic, Delsea, Newark East Side, Watchung Hills, Roselle Catholic, Bishop Ahr, Matawan, Middletown North, Rumson-Fair Haven, Somerville, Don Bosco Prep, Bloomfield, Verona, Ranney, Hun School, West Milford, Central Regional, Montclair, Linden, River Dell, Notre Dame, Camden Catholic, Hopewell Valley, Saint Peter’s Prep,

Media: Adam Zagoria, Sherlong Christie – Asbury Park Press, Jay Gomes, R. Greco, Coast to Coast, Dave’s Joint, Nj.Com, Rich Chrampanis JSZ, Alex Lorenzo JSZ, Jay Cook JSZ

Meet the other finalists for JSZ’s Mr. Hoop Zone – two players destined to do great things next year in college hoops!

Meet the 2018 JSZ All-Zone Girls Basketball Team!

NameSchoolName SchoolNameSchool
Alexis AdamsSouth BrunswickBridgett AndreeTrinity HallDara MabreyManasquan - 2018 JSZ Miss Hoop Zone
Destiny AdamsManchester Twp.Brelynn BellamySt. John VianneyDiamond MillerFranklin - 2018 Miss HZ Finalist
Julia CunninghamWatchung HillsSajada BonnerSt. John VianneyTori HydukeRumson-Fair Haven - 2018 JSZ Miss HZ Finalist
Alexandra GeorgeOld TappanMadison DoringSt. John VianneyFaith MasoniusManasquan - 2018 Miss HZ Finalist
Camille GrayFranklinSarah KarpellSt. John Vianney
Mya GrimesEwingMikayla MarkhamSaint Rose
Nicole JohnsonEast BrunswickLovin MarsicanoSaint Rose
Lindsey MackSecaucusLucy ThomasSaint Rose
LaNiya MillerPiscatawayRose CaverlyRed Bank Catholic
Lola MullaneyManasquanHayley MooreRed Bank Catholic
Teresa OrtizUniversityKatie RiceRed Bank Catholic
Danielle RobinsonUniversityLeilani CorreaRutgers Prep
Kylee WatsonMainlandJahsyni KnightRutgers Prep
Ryan WeiseAllentownMegan HornPingry
Teresa WolakBridgewater-RaritanKaley RansomPingry
Imani LewisLife Center Academy
Jada Queen Trenton Catholic
Kaela ReedTrenton Catholic
Michelle SidorSaddle River Day
Jaida PatrickSaddle River Day
Sydney WatkinsSaddle River Day

Meet the 2018 JSZ All-Zone Boys Basketball Team

NameSchoolName SchoolName School
Ray Bethea, Jr.Atlantic CityPrecious AchiuwaSt. Benedict's PrepLester QuinonesSt. Benedict's Prep
Mike DePersiaHaddonfieldSavior AkuwovoRanneyAhmadu SarnorRanney
Dylan DeveneyShawneeBryan AntoineRanneyBrendan ThieleSt. Peter's Prep
Aaron EstradaWoodburyAl-Amir DawesPatrick SchoolAndre ToureSt. Benedict's Prep
Kyion FlandersWildwoodCartier BowmanNotre DameKahlil WhitneyRoselle Catholic
Danny FrauenheimPoint Pleasant BeachAaron ClarkePope JohnJustin WinstonMontclair-Immaculate
Steve GeisWallMarc DadikaSt. Mary's-Rutherford
Corey GreerCamdenMarcellus EarlingtonDon Bosco PrepNaz ReidRoselle Catholic - 2018 JSZ Mr. Hoop Zone
Rob HigginsMiddletown NorthCaleb FieldsWildwood CatholicJahvon QuinerlyHudson Catholic - 2018 JSZ Mr. HZ Finalist
Jahid JenkinsNewark East SideZach FreemantleBergen CatholicJalen CareyMontclair-Immaculate - 2018 JSZ Mr. HZ Finalist
Darell JohnsonNottinghamAlanzo FrinkRoselle Catholic
Tavon JonesLindenRon Harper, Jr. Bergen Catholic
Cliff JosephNottinghamAlex ImegwuSeton Hall Prep
Jared KimbroughNeptuneKenny JonesMater Dei Prep
Chris MannPhillipsburgLouis KingHudson Catholic
Dean NollShawneeScottie LewisRanney
Ian O'ConnorRumson-Fair HavenValdir ManuelPatrick School
BJ Saliba, Jr.HackensackAshton MillerSeton Hall Prep
Atiba TaylorHackensackPaul MulcahyGill St. Bernards
Myles ThompsonCamdenLuther MuhammadHudson Catholic

2018 JSZ Hoops Plays of the Year – thanks to everyone who voted!!