The New Jersey Devils and Jersey Sports Zone hosted the second annual JSZ Hockey Banquet at the Prudential Center. Thanks to our partnership with the Devils, our All-State players and their families watched our All-Zone presentation followed by watching the Devils 3-1 win over the Sabres at The Rock!

Tyler Sedlak wins JSZ Hockey Player of the Year

The Don Bosco Prep forward committed to play Division I hockey at Holy Cross just one day prior to winning JSZ’s top hockey honor. Sedlak scored 40 goals in the Gordon Conference and helped lead the Ironmen to their first ever state championship on the ice. He follows his former teammate and best friend Mickey Burns as the first two winners of the award. JSZ’s Mike Frankel caught up with the winner at our Hockey Banquet in Newark:

JSZ Player of the Year Balloting

Thanks to the 29 coaches and media members for casting their vote for our Player of the Year. Each vote is counted equally, with 3 points for a first place vote, 2 points for 2nd and 1 point for 3rd

Coaches: Greg Toskos – Don Bosco, Bruce Shatel – Delbarton, Tom Bunting – Gloucester Catholic, Ryan Bogan – CBA, Rich McLaughlin – Randolph, Mick Messemer – Saint John Vianney, Chris Tommins – Hillsborough, Scott Garrow – Pingry, Anthony Matarazzo – Rumson-Fair Haven, Tony Nemati – Middletown South, Brandon Herr – Chatham, Don Wood – Middletown North, Mike Celano – Freehold Township, Mike Atkinson – Seton Hall Prep, Tim Fingerhut – Saint Augustine Prep, Tom Keough – Bergen Catholic, Jerry Minter – Monroe, Joe Pelliccio – Central Regional, Ryan Brown – Pope John, Larry Mahurter – St. Joe-Montvale

Media: Rich Chrampanis – JSZ, Jay Cook – JSZ, Madison Bess – JSZ, Nery Rodriguez – JSZ, Hockey Clan, Morris-Sussex Hockey Report, Andrew Koob –, Brian Bobal –,

Name High School 1st 2nd 3rd Total
Tyler SedlakDon Bosco Prep136152
Liam McLinskeyDon Bosco Prep45527
Mike BalzarottiDelbarton07721
Jude KurtasHillsborough32418
Alex KonovalovRidge22313
TJ SchweigardtDon Bosco Prep31213
Dom GarozzoGloucester Catholic1116
John GuttSaint John Vianney0113

Meet the 2019 JSZ All-Zone Hockey Team

GoaliesDefensemanForwardsAward Winners
Brett Cleaves, DelbartonDamien Carfagna, Don Bosco PrepTom Colucci, Seton Hall PrepTyler Sedlak, Don Bosco Prep - 2019 JSZ Player of the Year
Marcus Fabiunke, RidgeLogan Heroux, CBAKyle Contessa, CBA
Matt Schoer, Pope JohnBrendan Karnish, Saint Augustine PrepJames Falivene, DelbartonLiam McLInskey, Don Bosco Prep - 2019 Finalist
Max Schwarz, Don Bosco PrepTJ Schweigardt, Don Bosco PrepSam Fishteyn, MonroeMike Balzarotti, Delbarton, 2019 Finalist
Ronan Hickey, RFH - JSZ Save of the YearSean Vlasich, Northern HighlandsMatt Franzoni, ManasquanJude Kurtas, Hillsborough, 2019 Finalist
Mike Franzoni, Manasquan
Anthony Galante, Marlboro
Dom Garozzo, Gloucester Catholic
John Gutt, Saint John Vianney
Alex Konovalov, Ridge
Nick LaBianca, Jackson Liberty
Sean Murray, Morris Knolls
Tom Pryymak, Summit
Dave Renzulli, Madison
Jason Siedem, Madison
Steven Spetz, Pope John
Greg Spitznagel, Summit
Aidan Trainor, Princeton
Max Williams, Delbarton
Jason Wolff, Hillsborough
JT Zangara, Randolph
Matt Zdanowicz, Saint Peter's Prep