SSZ has highlights and interviews from the District 6 finals at Pine Belt Arena in Toms River including the Russo twins from Jackson Liberty both capturing championships on the mat

The District 6 Finals saw Shore Conference wrestlers go head to head.   The top three from each weight class advanced to the individual state championships next weekend in Atlantic City.  Congratulations to all the athletes.  Coming up later this week, we’ll profile Brick Memorial’s Alec Donovan, the 145 pound district champ, in our Nutrishop Spotlight

District 6 Wrestling Results (top 3 advance to state championships in Atlantic City)

106 pounds

1.  Richie Koehler (CBA)  2. Joseph King (Colts Neck)  3. Kyle Slendorn (Howell)

113 pounds

1.  Sebastian Rivera (CBA)  2. Gianni Ghione (Brick Memorial)  3. Jason Hernandez (Long Branch)

120 pounds

1.  Owen McClave (Toms River South)  2. Denzel Tovar (Wall)  3. Chris Crane (Southern)

126 pounds

1.  Mike Russo (Jackson Liberty)  2. Cole Corrigan (Toms River South)  3. Dylan VanSickell (CBA)

132 pounds

1. Marcus Iwama (Rumson-Fair Haven)  2. Anthony Gagliano (Howell)  3. James Knoeller (Southern)

138 pounds

1.  Matt Russo (Jackson Liberty)  2. Connor Garrity (Lacey)  3. Kris Lindemann (Howell)

145 pounds

1.  Alec Donovan (Brick Memorial)  2. Thomas Pokikuha (Pinelands)  3. Paul Capaldo (Middletown North)

152 pounds

1. Matt Wilhelm (Southern)  2. Jake Kaminsky (Manalapan)  3. Andrew Meyers (Toms River East)

160 pounds

1.  Cliff Ruggiero (Brick Memorial)  2. Will Scott (Brick Township)  3. Antrez Clagon (Toms River South)

170 pounds

1.  Brett Donner (Wall)  2. Zach Hertling (Ocean)  3. Kyle Wojtaszek (Brick Township)

182 pounds

1.  Dean Sherry (Brick Township)  2.  Joe Salvato (Toms River South)  3. Connor Bohringer (Jackson Memorial)

195 pounds

1.  Tyree Sutton (Keansburg)  2. Matt McKenzie (Wall)  3. Eric Keossian (Howell)

220 pounds

1.  Chad Freshnock (Middletown North)  2. Will Oxley (CBA)  3. Mike Siwiec (Toms River North)


1.  Nick Rivera (Brick Memorial)  2. Brody Graham (Jackson Memorial)  3. Micah Clark (Saint John Vianney)