The Rotary Clubs of Monmouth County hosted the 43rd annual Vince Lombardi Awards Banquet in Eatontown honoring 28 lineman from the Shore Conference

EATONTOWN – The Rotary Clubs of Monmouth County presented the 43rd annual Vince Lombardi Awards Banquet at the Sheraton Hotel honoring offensive and defensive lineman from the Shore Conference.  28 players received an award and heard from speakers including Monmouth University football coach Kevin Callahan, Rutgers defensive line coach Jim Panagos and former New York Giants punter Jeff Feagles.

Red Bank Catholic won Team of the Year and head coach Jim Portela won the Vic Kubu Memorial coach of the year.  John Bartow of Howell was given the John Tuggle award.

The late Vince Lombardi has strong local ties.  He lived in Fair Haven with his wife, Marie, while coaching the New York Giants and they are both buried at Mount Olivet Cemetery in Middletown.

Three members of Shore Sports Zone’s All-Zone team were honored – Shore’s James Bedell, RBC’s Ryan Kroeger, and RFH’s Tucker Briggs, who was our Zone Scholar Athlete of the Year

2014-15 Vince Lombardi Award Winners

Allentown HS – Kevin Locke

Asbury Park HS – Josue Williams

Colts Neck HS – Michael Maiello

Freehold Boro HS – Mitchell Johnson

Freehold Township HS – Jimmy Purcell

Holmdel HS – Kyle Rooney

Howell HS – Mike McGuinness

Keansburg HS – Tristan Miksza

Keyport HS – Dan Williams

Long Branch HS – Andrew Huff

Manasquan HS – Craig Miller

Marlboro HS – David Wiener

Matawan HS – Jake Weber

Mater Dei HS – Dave Osborn

Middletown North HS – Vincent Pianoforte

Middletown South HS – Brian Joyce

Monmouth Regional HS – Liam Kennedy

Neptune HS – Andrew Holland-Samuels

Ocean Township HS – Haydn Matarazzo

Raritan HS – Chris Vurchio

Red Bank Catholic HS – Ryan Kroeger

Red Bank Regional HS – Jimmy Ferrogine

Rumson-Fair Haven HS – Tucker Briggs

Shore Regional HS – James Bedell

Saint John Vianney HS – Kyle Gibson

Wall Township HS – Jim Onulak